I Love Nintedo!

I am a cold, angry, cynical man. Gaming has felt my wrath. I have outright refused to buy sequels due to a company’s anti-consumer ways and have bashed some of the most highly-regarded games this generation. Very few things make me remember the fun, happy kid I used to be.

Nintendo somehow manages to dodge a lot of my fury. While I can definitely complain about the company itself, its games still produce charm and bring a smile to my face. I love playing Nintendo games and have actual excitement when a new one is announced (even when it is a sequel).

This past weekend, Nintendo World in New York City hosted an Animal Crossing: New Leaf event. There were little events set up around the store that mimicked the things you could do in the game. Things like fishing, fossil-finding and bug-catching were all on display. My inner child came out.

During the nearly two-hour train ride, I concocted ideas in my head of how the store would look. Would there be small houses with animals around the store? Would the fossil hunt have the funny little star shape on the ground? Would I literally be able to dig?

It was probably inevitable that I would be disappointed when I entered the store, but then something dawned on me. I had become engulfed with a fever I haven’t felt since I was 10 years old. I wanted this to be larger than life and began to use my creativity to make the store explode with passion.

AC_2

Isn’t this just silly?!

Nintendo was able to make me feel like a child again and I hadn’t even had my hands on the game yet. So, even though I clearly had unrealistic expectations for what Nintendo World would look like, I was filled with childlike glee.

I can tell you that the three-hour wait in line outside the store drove me mad. I really wanted to get in the store and earn my buttons. Never have free trinkets meant so much to me. I don’t even plan on using them; I just “needed” to have them.

Now I’m filled with an Animal Crossing delirium again. I have been stricken with the bug to collect everything in the game. Best Buy is hosting some events for free items and I’m marking my calendar to grab them all. If I find out that Toys’R’Us is doing the same thing, I’ll enter another one of those stores for the first time in five years just to get some, too.

Nintendo somehow manages to bring joy to my heart all the time. I may have to wait an inordinate amount of time, but I am never disappointed. Even when I let the hype flow through my veins and dissolve into blunder, I still end up genuinely liking everything it does.

So I really do not care if New Super Luigi U is the same garbage or if the next Zelda is the worst of the series; I just love Nintendo. The company makes me believe I can be a happy kid again. It usually makes me behave like one, too.

AC_3

He’s a Nintendo manchild, too!

Below I have provide a few extra photos from my trip to Nintendo World. I hope these help show how awesome events like this can be.

AC_5 AC_6AC_4  AC_7 AC_8 AC_9 AC_10

Leave a Reply

