Sex Done Right: Catherine

Sex in video games is a ridiculously touchy subject for me. I wrote an entire blog post detailing how I disliked it so much (to which many of you thought I was insane), but I’m not here to bombast against it. No, I actually have a more positive view this time.

My first argument was that sex in video games wasn’t been shown in a realistic light. My solution was to develop characters first and then give them personalities that would showcase sex in a realistic manner. Well, thank you Atlus for creating “Catherine”.

Just look at this game. Screen shots, trailers, previews, whatever. It looks phenomenal. I may be skeptical about its gameplay elements, but I have nothing but admiration for its plot line. While it’s not showing the positive side of sexual encounters, the game at least shows how sex can affect an individual.

It may be a bit early for me to be commenting about the characters, but I think Atlus has really nailed it out of the park with the Catherine/Katherine aspect. You have both stereotypes of love/women in this game. One is the typical “evil” and the other the typical “good.” I find it humorous that Catherine, representing “evil,” is decked out in white while Katherine, representing “good,” is dressed in black/dark colors.


Why does Vincent look so aggravated?

It also looks like they aren’t skimping on the main character Vincent’s torment. They don’t show him as in a positive light or even say that his action of cheating on his fiance is good. Hell, they go the opposite direction and make the whole debacle tear him up inside.

Look at the sexy bits, too. Nothing is dramatic or over the top. Yeah, I suppose Catherine being covered by only a blanket may seem insane to some people, but I feel the story warrants that kind of exposure. If anything, I think the game isn’t going far enough in its sexual depiction.


Mothers, avert your children! Now, responsible mothers, explain this scene.

My only concern is that the story won’t be that serious. If you’ve played any kind of Japanese game (or watched more recent cinema), you know that the plot lines take radical jumps in logic and reason at points. We can already see from the trailers that there are sheep men and giant forks, but those occur within the dream sequences.

Then again, maybe that’s the entire point of the dream sequences. Maybe Atlus doesn’t know how to explain their plot-line without it flying into wildly asinine territory, so they created a cop-out. I’m all for this if the story finally shows that all sex isn’t just some kind of stupid fantasy.


Oh no, Giant Fetus!

So, while my views on sex are still very “conservative” and I really think most games shouldn’t even bother, I’m happy that something like “Catherine” exists. Critics and talking heads might not be able to see past the partial nudity, but this game will give other developers a chance to really create something special.

And hell, it doesn’t hurt that Atlus’ art team has created a very pretty character. Now we just need to see if she get’s developed more.


Kylie Minogue has a song for her.

Leave a Reply

